Who AM I ? The eternal quest ....consider Yoga I AM

I am....is infinite awareness without limited labels of personalizing. In sanskrit the word is
 'so ham' I am that. Yoga is the scientific process devised 5000 years ago to arrive at this union of the individual to the whole. The mastery of the mind has never been researched as it has except by the yogis through their own self practice, which is why yoga is a SELF practice. To arrive at the I AM requires a desire for truth, its not for the weak hearted, courage, conviction, self discipline are a must to see all the games we play with ourselves through our mind, senses and ego.

The practice in the west of just postures is the 3rd limb, without the first 2 limbs can actually cause more harm than good, since you are expanding your consciousness but without an adequate vessel to hold it.

Yoga's 8 limbs approach according to patanjali sutras is to arrive at a state of I am as 'samadhi'. Yoga is a scientific process to arriving at the I am state of being awareness, its not religion or dogma.

It starts with the simplicity of conduct with outer world and oneself this is the foundation, as Yamas and Niyamas, the first 2 limbs. Too often in the western teaching of yoga we forget these, however without this its like putting a structural foundation on sand and its surely to fall. Listed below are these 10 aspects, to implement in our lives through Yoga.  At a yoga i am retreat we do not ignore the first 2 limbs of patanjali on conduct, they are like learning to walk, and form part of the yoga program.

The 5 yamas and 5 niyamas are prerequisite to the witness of the I AM and living mindfully with awareness. Ones conduct to oneself and others is to hold to this ideal to avoid suffering. We become conscious of our thoughts actions and words, and live with awareness.

YAMAS: (restraints to the outer world)
  • Ahimsa: non-violence, non-harming
  • Satya: truthfulness, honesty 
  • Asteya: non-stealing
  • Brahmacharya: walking in awareness of the highest reality, continence
  • Aparigraha: non-possessiveness

NIYAMAS: (self regulation with oneself)

  • Shaucha: purity of body and mind 
  • Santosha: contentment 
  • Tapah: training the senses
  • Svadhyaya: self-study, reflection on sacred words
  • Ishvara pranidhana: surrender

Our validation requires only our selves, Yoga is the access point to all of our self, if we allow it to be wholly applied as the full 8 limbs, in other yoga I AM programs we cover the other limbs also, such as meditation.

Your being is divine life force and through your own self inquiry to who am i, can enable this awakening realization. Its not a forced, a natural process of truth realization, this can only happen if the quest for truth is a burning desire to live without ego being in control of your words actions and thoughts, and clearly requires a discipline such as yoga to show us the way to who am i?


We are taking bookings for our first xmas and new year retreat in Ibiza